Stuck in an elevator

Steve Dennis

A couple of months ago I got stuck in the elevator in my building. By myself. Almost entirely in the dark. For about an hour.

Unfortunately, I’m more than a wee bit claustrophobic. And while my rationale mind told me that nothing bad was going to happen and that there was nothing I could do to change my circumstances–that I had absolutely no option but to wait until somebody came to rescue me–my lizard brain was in overdrive. I needed to get out. Now.

Fortunately, during the past couple of years I’ve learned some meditation and breathing techniques that allowed me to settle in and accept my situation for what it was: an uncomfortable inconvenience that would end once the guy from the elevator company turned up to set me free.

While this was the first time I’ve gotten trapped in an elevator, it was hardly the first time I’ve gotten…

View original post 240 more words

Leave a Reply

